Troop 583 Arvada, Colorado 

Click here to edit subtitle

Troop 583 OA Representative

Nick Richardson


Stacy Mullen

Kodiak Chapter Adviser


From our Lodge Chief

Dear Candidate,

Recently you were elected by members of your unit to become eligible for membership in the Order of the Arrow.  Your selection signifies that you live up to the Scout Oath and Law and that you are indeed an honored camper.  I offer you congratulations on behalf of your Chapter and Lodge.  However, before becoming a member you must first undergo an Ordeal to test your sincerity and worthiness. Below is some valuable information you should know. I look forward to greeting you and welcoming you into our honored Order! if you have any questions, feel free to contact me at

Jack Vasquez
2016 Tahosa Lodge Chief


March 1, 2016 OA Elections. In case you forgot below are our current OA members.

1. Carlton Greenly

2. James Park

3. Nick Richardson

4. Ben Greenbury

You might ask what is Order of the Arrow and how does a Scout become an Arrowman? The Order of the Arrow (OA) is most commonly known as the National Honor Society of the Boy Scouts of America (BSA). A more clear definition would be that the society was created to honor scouts that best exemplify the Scout Oath and Law. Scouts are elected to the Order by their fellow Scouts in their own unit , following approval by their Scoutmaster or Varsity team Coach. Each unit may schedule one election annually. To become a member, a youth must:

1. Be a registered member of a Boy Scout Troop or Varsity Scout Team

2. Hold 1st Class rank or higher as of 12/31/2015

3. Have experienced 15 days and nights of Boy Scout camping during the 2-year period prior to the election (2014 & 2015). The15 days and nights must include one, but no more than 1, long-term camp consisting of 6 consecutive days and 5 nights of resident camping, approved and under the auspices and standards of the Boy Scouts of America. The balance of the camping must be overnight, weekend, or other short-term camps.

2016 OA candidates

1. Zach Bowen

2. Ethan Thomas

3. Austin Herbel

4. Thomas Kamsickas

5. Nathan Padilla